19 Apr 2018

EYCH 2018: International Perspectives Forum – Meet the speakers

The International Forum on the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018: International Perspectives will take place on Monday 23rd of April at the Palais des Académies in Brussels.

High-level speakers and panelists from over 12 countries will join the discussion with EU and culture professionals:

The opening address will be held by Mr. Silvio Gonzato, Director for Strategic Communications of the Parliamentary and Legal Affairs, European External Action Service; Mrs. Themis Christophidou, Director-General of the European Commission’s Directorate General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture and Mr. Stefano Manservisi, Director-General of the European Commission’s Directorate General for International.

Mr. Christer Gustafsson, Full Professor at the Uppsala University and Secretary-General for ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on Economics of Conservation will introduce the discussions and the panels of the day.

The first panel discussion on “Cultural Heritage at risk – Reconstruction, recovery and regulations. Next steps?” will be moderated by Mrs. Claire Doole, Founder of Claire Doole Communications, who will also be the Master of the Ceremony.

This issue will be addressed by Mr. Lazare Eloundou Assomo, Chief of the Emergency and Preparedness Response Unit at the Culture sector of UNESCO; Mr. Markus Hilgert, Director of the Vorderasiatisches Museum, Pergamonmuseum; Mr. Toshiyuki Kono, Distinguished Professor at the Kyushu University, and President of ICOMOS, and Mr. Walter Zampieri, Head of Cultural Policy Unit of the Directorate General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture.

Participants of the two first editions of the GCLP: Mrs. Aishwarya Tipnis, Principal Architect of Aishwarya Tipnis Architects, and Mr. Norton Ficarelli, Project Manager, Instituto Pedra will share their experience on practices from their countries, introduced by the Team Leader of the Cultural Diplomacy Platform, Mrs. Sana Ouchtati.

Second and third panel discussions will be moderated by Mr. Jasper Visser, Senior Partner at VISSCH+STAM.

The second panel discussion will be on the “Engagement and participatory governance of cultural heritage in a globalized world” and will be discussed by Mrs. Stefania Abakerli, Coordinator in the Culture in Development Program in South Asia at The World Bank; Mrs. Angela Mwai, Head of Gender Unit at UN Habitat; Mr.Christophe Rivet, Principal at the Cultural Spaces Consulting, and Mrs. Erminia Sciacchitano, Chief Scientific Advisor of the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 at the European Commission’s Directorate General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture.

The last panel will discuss on “Innovation in cultural heritage – diverse outlooks” and is composed of Mrs. Birgit de Boissezon, Head of Sustainable Management of Natural Resources Unit at the European Commission’s Directorate General for Research and Innovation; Mr. Ratish Nanda, CEO of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, Mr.Andrew S. Potts, Partner at the Nixon Peabody LLP, and Mrs.Belinda Yuen, Research Director at the Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovation Cities.

Finally, Mr.Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, will close the discussions and the day.

Access biographies of our panelists here